AACC uses Cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing Cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

AACC Past President's Award

This award is given each year to the AACC's immediate past president to honor his or her important contributions to the field of clinical laboratory science throughout his or her career and to acknowledge the recipient's many contributions to the AACC.

Although historical records do not indicate when the award originated, AACC's Past Presidents, and the year in which they served as AACC President, are listed below.

This Year's Winner

Dennis DietzenDennis J. Dietzen, PhD, DABCC, FAACC

Dr. Dietzen is professor of pathology and immunology as well as pediatrics at Washington University, where he is the medical director of laboratory services at St. Louis Children’s Hospital. Prior to his work at Washington University, he was a development chemist at DuPont Diagnostics (now a part of Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics) and director of clinical laboratories at the Memphis Veterans Affairs Medical Center. The AACC enjoyed another successful year during Dr. Dietzen’s presidency. The association broke new ground in its congressional advocacy efforts, securing a $2 million appropriation in support of laboratory harmonization efforts, spearheading a coalition to urge Congress to fund a collaboration led by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to establish pediatric reference intervals, and opposing the creation of a new regulatory structure for laboratory-developed tests. The year also saw the first point-of-care professional certification examination, the groundwork for a new strategic plan to be unveiled at the 2019 annual meeting, and continued global educational efforts in Latin America and Asia. AACC also began the process of contracting with a commercial publishing partner to expand the reach and stabilize the financial footing of AACC journals. In addition to being president, Dr. Dietzen has served the AACC in numerous capacities. He has been on organizing committees of two Oak Ridge conferences and two annual meetings. He was newsletter editor for the Pediatric-Maternal Fetal Division and has served on the pediatric reference range committee since its inception. He serves on the editorial boards of Clinical Biochemistry and Critical Reviews in Clinical Laboratory Sciences and is associate editor of the Journal of Applied Laboratory Medicine. He is an author or co-author of more than 100 peer-reviewed publications, monographs, and chapters on a wide range of subjects.

Previous Winners

2018 - Michael J. Bennett, PhD
2017 - Patricia Jones, PhD
2016 - David D. Koch, PhD
2015 - Steven H. Wong, PhD
2014 - Robert H. Christenson, PhD
2013 - Greg Miller, PhD
2012 - Ann Gronowski, PhD
2011 - Catherine A. Hammett-Stabler, PhD
2010 - Barbara M. Goldsmith, PhD
2009 - Larry Broussard, PhD
2008 - Gary L. Myers, PhD, FACB
2006 - John E. Sherwin, PhD
2005 - Mitchell Scott, PhD
2004 - Thomas P. Moyer, PhD
2003 - Susan A. Evans, PhD
2002 - Mary Lou Gantzer, PhD
2001 - Larry Kricka, PhD
2000 - Frank A. Sedor, PhD
1999 - K. Michael Parker, PhD
1998 - Stephen E. Kahn, PhD
1997 - Laurence M. Demers, PhD
1996 - Mary F. Burritt, PhD
1995 - Peter Wilding, PhD
1994 - Lawrence M. Killingsworth, PhD
1993 - Lemuel J. Bowie, Phd
1992 - Basil T. Doumas, PhD
1991 - Karen L. Nickel, PhD
1990 - Helen M. Free, DSc
1989 - Carl A. Burtis, PhD
1988 - Theodore Peters, PhD
1987 - Robert L. Habig, PhD
1986 - Jack H. Ladenson, PhD
1985 - Kurt M. Dubowski, PhD
1984 - Gerald R. Cooper, PhD
1983 - Gary A. Zimmerman, PhD
1982 - Jocelyn M. Hicks, PhD
1981 - Paige K. Besch, PhD
1980 - Donald S. Young, PhD
1979 - Albert Dietz, PhD
1978 - Nathan Gochman, PhD
1977 - Norbet W. Tietz, PhD
1976 - Royden N. Rand, PhD
1975 - Morton K. Schwartz, PhD
1974 - George N. Bowers, MD
1973 - Ralph E. Thiers, PhD
1972 - Joseph H. Boutwell, MD, PhD
1971 - Alex Kaplan, PhD
1970 - Robert S. Melville, PhD
1968 - William B. Mason, PhD
1967 - Robert L. Dryer, PhD
1966 - Wendell T. Caraway, PhD
1965 - Julius Sendroy, PhD
1964 - Richard J. Henry, PhD
1963 - Miriam Reiner, PhD
1962 - David Seligson, MD, ScD
1961 - Arnold G. Ware, PhD
1960 - Ferrin B. Moreland, PhD
1959 - Oliver Gaebler
1958 - Joseph I Routh, PhD
1957 - Robert M. Hill, PhD
1956 - Otto Schales, PhD
1955 - Monroe E. Freeman, PhD
1954 - Hugh J. McDonald, DSc
1953 - Albert E. Sobel, PhD
1952 - John G. Reinhold, PhD
1951 - Harry Sabotka
1950 - Max M. Friedman, PhD