AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Outstanding Contributions to Education in Clinical Chemistry

This award recognizes an individual who has devoted a major portion of his/her professional life to enhancing the practice and profession of clinical chemistry through education. The educator selected for this award has made significant, innovative, and/or cumulatively outstanding contributions to education in clinical laboratory science. These contributions should include excellence in education beyond the local level, with widespread recognition of the recipient's excellence which may include teaching, directing, mentoring, writing, and speaking abilities, ideally to multiple levels of audiences.

Congratulations to the 2021 Winner

Elizabeth Frank

Elizabeth L. Frank, PhD, DABCC, FAACC

Elizabeth L. Frank, PhD, is a professor of pathology at the University of Utah School of Medicine and a medical director at ARUP Laboratories, a national reference laboratory operated by the University of Utah, in Salt Lake City. She is certified as a clinical chemist by the American Board of Clinical Chemistry and is a fellow of the AACC Academy. 

Dr. Frank directed the University of Utah ComACC-accredited Post-Doctoral Training Program in Clinical Chemistry from 2002 through 2015 and continues as a program co-director. She was elected to the ABCC in 2005 and served as Director (2005-2008) and Chair of the Chemistry Examination Subcommittee (2009-2010). She was elected to the Commission on Accreditation in Clinical Chemistry (ComACC) in 2005, and served as Commissioner (2005-2008), Vice President and Chair of Program Evaluation (2008-2010), and President (2011-2012) of the Commission. Dr. Frank is the current President of the Academy of Clinical Laboratory Physicians and Scientists (ACLPS), an organization of academic pathologists and clinical scientists with a primary focus on education, mentoring, and support of students and trainees.

At ARUP Laboratories, Dr. Frank directs the Analytic Biochemistry and the Calculi and Manual Chemistry Laboratories, and is co-medical director of the Mass Spectrometry Laboratory. Her clinical and scientific interests include measurement of biogenic amines, porphyrins, and vitamins using HPLC and LC MS/MS; determination of calculi composition using FTIR; biochemical assessment of nephrolithiasis risk; and use of laboratory test results to evaluate health status.

Previous Winners

2020 - Roger Bertholf, PhD
2019 - William A. Clarke, PhD
2018 - Thomas Annesley, PhD
2017 - Eleftherios P. Diamandis, MD, PhD
2016 - Ann M. Gronowski, PhD
2015 - Nader Rifai, PhD
2014 - Michael L. Astion, PhD
2013 - David E. Bruns, MD
2012 - David B. Sacks, MD
2011 - Edward R. Ashwood, MD
2010 - Amitava Dasgupta, PhD
2009 - Michael Laposata, MD
2008 - William E. Winter, MD
2007 - Craig A. Lehmann, PhD
2006 - Catherine A. Hammett-Stabler, PhD
2005 - Robert H. Christenson, PhD
2004 - Larry Broussard, PhD
2003 - Paul Wolf, MD
2002 - Alan Wu, PhD
2001 - Lawrence M. Silverman, PhD
2000 - Mitchell Scott, PhD
1999 - D. Robert Dufour, MD
1998 - Christopher P. Price, PhD
1997 - Christopher S. Frings, PhD
1996 - Oren Zinder, PhD
1995 - Peter Jatlow, MD
1994 - Jiro J. Kaneko, DVM, PhD
1993 - Richard B. Passey, PhD
1992 - Herbert A. Fritsche, PhD
1991 - Marge A. Brewster, PhD
1990 - H. Peter Lehmann, PhD
1989 - Jack H. Ladenson, PhD
1988 - Julius Kerkay, PhD
1987 - John Al Lott, PhD
1986 - Edward C. Knoblock
1985 - Richard H. Gadsden, Sr., PhD
1984 - Allan G. Gornall, PhD
1983 - Edward W. Bermes, PhD
1982 - Harry F. Weisberg, MD
1981 - F. William Sunderman, Sr., MD, PhD
1980 - Roger J. Thibert, PhD
1979 - Paige K. Besch, PhD
1978 - Hanns-Dieter Gruemer, MD
1977 - Hugh J. McDonald, DSc
1976 - Norbet W. Tietz, PhD
1975 - Max E. Chilcote, PhD
1974 - Morton K. Schwartz, PhD
1973 - Joseph I Routh, PhD
1972 - Martin Rubin, PhD
1971 - Alex Kaplan, PhD