AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine

This award (formerly known as Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry from 1952-2007) is considered the premier award of the Association and is granted as a "lifetime achievement" award for contributions to the field of clinical chemistry. Individuals selected for this award have made significant contributions in all aspects of clinical chemistry, particularly service, education and research; have achieved international stature and reputation by virtue of their efforts; and have demonstrated long standing service to the AACC, either at the grass roots, national and/or international levels.

Congratulations to the 2022 Winner

Michael BennettMichael J. Bennett, PhD, FRCPath, DABCC, FACB

Michael J. Bennett, PhD, FRCPath, DABCC, FACB, is an Emeritus Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine. He obtained his PhD in Medical Enzymology from the University of Sheffield School of Medicine (UK) in 1976 and is a Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists (UK). 

Dr. Bennett has been actively engaged in Clinical Chemistry and biochemical genetics since 1975 and has practiced primarily in Children’s Hospitals including Sheffield Children’s Hospital, Children’s Medical Center of Dallas, and Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia where until his recent retirement he was Chief of Laboratory Medicine. 

Dr. Bennett has published 285 peer-reviewed scientific papers and 53 book chapters, reviews, and editorials. He has edited three books.  Dr. Bennett’s research has focused on identification of disorders of mitochondrial fatty acid where he was one of the first to identify MCAD deficiency, and on the juvenile form of Batten Disease (CLN3). He has lectured extensively in the field of pediatric laboratory medicine. 

Dr. Bennett is a past president and a former treasurer and member of the AACC Board of Directors and past president of the NACB (now the AACC Academy), past-chair of the Pediatric-Maternal Fetal and Metabolomics-Proteomics Divisions of AACC, and past board member of the SIMD.  He is an Associate Editor for Clinical Chemistry Journal and has sat on the editorial boards of Annals of Clinical Biochemistry, Journal of Inherited Metabolic Diseases and Molecular Genetics and Metabolism.

Dr. Bennett has numerous awards for his research and clinical service.


Previous Winners

2021 - Marilyn Huestis, PhD
2020 - Nader Rifai, PhD
2019 - Mitchell Scott, PhD
2018 - D. Robert Dufour, MD
2017 - Susan Evans, PhD
2016 - Edward R. Ashwood, MD
2015 - Gary L. Myers, PhD
2014 - Charles D. Hawker, PhD
2013 - Leslie M. Shaw, PhD
2012 - Thomas P. Moyer, PhD
2011 - Stephen E. Kahn, PhD
2010 - Jay M. McDonald, MD
2009 - Christopher P. Price, PhD
2008 - Mary F. Burritt, PhD
2007 - Greg Miller, PhD
2006 - Helen M. Free, DSc
2005 - Edward W. Bermes, PhD
2004 - Matthew McQueen, PhD
2003 - Morton K. Schwartz, PhD
2002 - Theodore Peters, PhD
2001 - Peter Wilding, PhD
2000 - Nathan Gochman, PhD
1999 - Lemuel J. Bowie, Phd
1998 - David E. Bruns, MD
1997 - Gerard M. Siest, PhD
1996 - Kurt M. Dubowski, PhD
1995 - Basil T. Doumas, PhD
1994 - Jack H. Ladenson, PhD
1993 - Jocelyn M. Hicks, PhD
1992 - Gerald R. Cooper, PhD
1991 - Carl A. Burtis, PhD
1990 - Samuel Meites, PhD
1989 - Norbet W. Tietz, PhD
1988 - George N. Bowers, MD
1987 - Martin Fleisher, PhD
1986 - Laurence M. Demers, PhD
1984 - William C. Purdy, PhD
1983 - John Savory, PhD
1982 - James O. Westgard, PhD
1981 - Robert F. Labbe, PhD
1980 - David Glick, PhD
1979 - Abraham Saifer, PhD
1978 - F. William Sunderman, MD
1977 - Donald S. Young, PhD
1976 - Norman G. Anderson, PhD
1975 - Bernard Klein, PhD
1974 - Bennie Zak, PhD
1973 - Irving Sunshine, PhD
1972 - Ralph E. Thiers, PhD
1971 - David Seligson, MD, ScD
1970 - Wendell T. Caraway, PhD
1969 - Sidney Udenfriend, PhD
1968 - Julius Sendroy, PhD
1967 - Richard J. Henry, PhD
1966 - Leonard T. Skeggs, PhD
1965 - Samuel Natelson, PhD
1964 - Donald D. Van Slyke, PhD
1963 - C.P. Stewart
1962 - Harry Sobotka, PhD
1961 - Warren Sperry
1960 - Albert E. Sobel, PhD
1959 - Oliver Gaebler
1958 - Marschelle Power, PhD
1957 - Joseph Gast, PhD
1956 - Joesph Roe, PhD
1955 - M.X. Sullivan, PhD
1954 - John G. Reinhold, PhD
1953 - Michael Somogyi, PhD
1952 - Jos Kahn, PhD