AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Clinical Laboratory Scientist Achievement Award

This award recognizes a clinical laboratory scientist (CLS) professional who has made significant contributions to the CLS community, their respective institutions, and the laboratory medicine field. In addition, educational achievements including contributing to the CLS profession through mentoring, teaching, and guiding the professional development of early career clinical laboratory scientists will be considered.

The awardee must be a CLS professional and AACC member. CLS professionals work as laboratory management and operational staff, including lab supervisors, managers, technologists, and educators in CLS programs.

Congratulations to the 2022 Winner

Peggy Mann, MS, MT(ASCP), CPP

Peggy Mann works as a Program Manager in the Department of Clinics Administration for the University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB). 

Prior to Peggy’s focus in Point of Care Testing, her general clinical laboratory experience included running a faculty group practice’s accredited physician’s office laboratory. 

At UTMB, her work career included bench tech in special chemistry and main lab chemistry, a special function Internal Medicine Immunodiagnostics lab and a special function Pediatric GI lab. Included with the clinical operations and bench work was the added bonus of helping to develop translational ‘research to clinical’ lab tests in the two special function labs.

She continues to expand POC services across the UTMB health system which she developed and implemented while working in the Department of Pathology.

With 26 of her 40 years at UTMB in POCT, her experience spans inpatient, outpatient, ambulatory and regional networks. Numerous service awards include POCC of the Year, POCC Lifetime Achievement, CLSI Excellence in Standards Development, Southwest Regional POC Group Service Award, and the (inaugural) 2022 AACC Clinical Laboratory Scientist (CLS) Achievement Award. 

In addition to AACC, she volunteers with the CLSI POC Expert Panel, the CAP POC Committee and is a Southwest Regional POC Group educational and meeting program team member. 

She is a writer on an AACC POC guide/document project. Peggy authors publications and presents on POCT. 


How to Submit a Nomination

To nominate a colleague for this award, please submit the following to [email protected]:

  1. A letter containing an evaluation and appraisal of the nominee’s accomplishments related to the award.
  2. Three to five letters of support detailing the nominee’s accomplishments related to the award.
  3. The nominee’s resume/curriculum vitae.

Learn more about submitting a nomination and about other AACC awards here.

The Award Selection Process

The CLS Council will review all nominees and select the awardee based on the overall achievements of each candidate. Once the awardee is selected, the nomination packet will be sent to the Awards Committee for final approval. This process is recommended so that the nominees are evaluated by their peers and colleagues in the CLS community.

The awardee will then be recognized at the AACC Annual Scientific Meeting and will receive the award from the AACC president.