AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Outstanding Scientific Achievements by a Young Investigator

This award recognizes and encourages the professional development of a young investigator who has demonstrated exceptional scientific achievements early in his or her career. It is given based on the degree of originality exhibited in the individual's creative process and the significance of the research conducted relevant to the field of clinical laboratory medicine. It is conferred upon an individual who has the potential to be an outstanding investigator of the future. (The individual must not have reached the age of 40 by January 1 in the year in which the award is to be given and must be an AACC member.)

Congratulations to the 2022 Winner

young man with beard and glasses wearing a lab coat with pink tie and blue-and-white checkered shirtChristopher Farnsworth, PhD, DABCC, FAACC

Christopher Farnsworth, PhD, DABCC, FAACC, is an assistant professor of Pathology and Immunology at Washington University in St. Louis and serves a Medical Director of Clinical Chemistry and Point of Care Testing at Barnes Jewish Hospital. He obtained his PhD in Pathology from the University of Rochester before going on to complete a Clinical Chemistry fellowship at Washington University. Dr. Farnsworth’s clinical and translational research has three primary aims, all with the focus of improving laboratory testing and patient care. These include acute and critical care biomarker development and testing, the host pathogen interface and associated laboratory testing, and mitigating preanalytic laboratory errors. He has authored over 60 peer reviewed articles, case studies, reviews and book chapters. Dr. Farnsworth has been particularly active during the COVID-19 pandemic, authoring over 17 manuscripts and delivering invited lectures from numerous professional societies including AACC and the IFCC. Beyond his research and clinical roles, he also has numerous volunteer responsibilities with AACC including serving on the Editorial Board for Clinical Chemistry, as a volunteer with the Policy and External Affairs Committee, on the AACC Academy’s Scientific Shorts Editorial Board and as the Chair Elect of the AACC Midwest Section.

Previous Winners

2021 - Maria Alice Willrich, PhD
2020 - Dina Greene, PhD
2019 - Livia Schiavinato Eberlin, PhD
2018 - Christina Lockwood, PhD
2017 - Mark Marzinke, PhD
2016 - Mari DeMarco, PhD
2015 - Kara L. Lynch, PhD
2014 - Pete A. Kavsak, PhD
2013 - Rossa W.K. Chiu, MBBS, PhD
2012 - Andrew Hoofnagle, PhD
2011 - Linnea Baudhuin, PhD, DABMG
2010 - Amy Saenger, PhD
2009 - Joshua Bornhorst, PhD
2008 - Alex Rai, PhD
2007 - Loralie J. Langman, PhD
2006 - Roshini Abraham, PhD
2005 - Liu-Ying Luo, PhD
2004 - Yaniv Sherer, MD
2003 - George Yousef, MD
2002 - Thomas Daly, MD
2001 - Lynn Bry, PhD
2000 - Sridevi Devaraj, PhD
1999 - Elizabeth M. Rohlfs, PhD
1998 - Uttam Garg, PhD
1997 - Gregory J. Tsongalis, PhD
1996 - Ann Gronowski, PhD
1995 - David Hage, PhD
1994 - Bruce Goldberger, PhD
1993 - Marcie Hursting, PhD
1992 - Bryan Wolf, PhD
1991 - Amitava Dasgupta, PhD
1990 - Thomas Prior, PhD
1989 - Timothy Schroeder
1988 - Nader Rifai, PhD
1987 - Thomas M. Annesley, PhD
1986 - Alan Wu, PhD
1985 - Eleftherios P. Diamandis, MD, PhD
1983 - Daniel Nealon, PhD
1982 - Norman Leigh Anderson, PhD
1981 - Jean-Pierre Bretaudiere
1981 - Stephen Thibodeau, PhD
1980 - Thomas Grove, PhD
1979 - Eric Sampson, PhD
1978 - Robert Rej, PhD
1977 - Herbert K. Naito, PhD
1976 - Lawrence M. Silverman, PhD