AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Outstanding Contributions Through Service to the Profession of Clinical Chemistry

This award recognizes the individuals who have worked throughout their careers to advance the professional status of clinical chemists and the professional objectives of the AACC. 

Congratulations to the 2022 Winner

An older man wearing glasses, with blue shirt and yellow tie James D. Faix, MD

James D. Faix, MD is a pathologist with interest and expertise in both clinical chemistry and clinical immunology. After receiving his medical degree from Hahnemann (now Drexel University) Medical College, he trained in Anatomic & Clinical Pathology at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston MA and also completed a fellowship in Clinical Immunology there. He worked at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and the Joslin Diabetes Center in Boston before moving to Stanford University School of Medicine in Palo Alto CA where he served as Director of Clinical Chemistry & Immunology for many years. More recently, he had similar responsibilities at Montefiore Medical Center in the Bronx NY. Beginning in July, he will be Medical Director of Immunology at Quest Diagnostics in San Juan Capistrano CA.

Although he has always viewed his management of a wide range of clinical testing for patient care as his primary responsibility, he developed special interest in endocrinology and autoimmune disorders, especially thyroid disease. For many years, he participated in the effort initiated by the International Federation of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine to standardize thyroid function testing. The other focus of his career has been supporting the field of laboratory medicine, especially Clinical Chemistry. He has had significant volunteer activities over the years in both the College of American Pathologists (Council for Scientific Affairs; Chemistry, Special Chemistry, and Diagnostic Immunology Resource Committees; Standards Committee) and the American Association for Clinical Chemistry (Board of Directors; leadership in several divisions and local sections; annual meeting task forces and organizing committees). For both organizations, his goals have included enhancing member involvement, recognition of the importance of laboratory testing, and the development of teaching materials for medical students, residents and fellows, and practicing laboratorians.


Previous Winners

2021 - Salvador F. Sena, PhD, DABCC, FAACC
2020 - Martin Fleisher
2019 - Mario Plebani, MD
2018 - Fred S. Apple, PhD
2017 - Ian Young, MD
2016 - Larry A. Broussard, PhD
2015 - Graham H. Beastall, PhD
2014 - James C. Boyd, MD
2013 - D. Robert Dufour, MD
2012 - John E. Sherwin, PhD
2011 - Mary Lou Gantzer, PhD
2010 - Ann Gronowski, PhD
2009 - Donald S. Young, PhD
2008 - Susan A. Evans, PhD
2007 - Mathias Müller, MD
2006 - Gary L. Myers, PhD, FACB
2005 - Roland Valdes, PhD
2004 - Karen L. Nickel, PhD
2003 - Frank A. Sedor, PhD
2002 - David Uddin, PhD
2001 - Stephen E. Kahn, PhD
2000 - Mary F. Burritt, PhD
1999 - Jean C. Joseph, PhD
1998 - Jacob B. Levine
1997 - Thomas P. Moyer, PhD
1996 - Lawrence M. Killingsworth, PhD
1995 - Roger Boeckx, PhD
1994 - K. Michael Parker, PhD
1993 - Gerald Gallwas
1992 - K. Owen Ash, PhD
1991 - Theodore Peters, PhD
1990 - Ronald H. Laessig, PhD
1989 - Morton K. Schwartz, PhD
1988 - Sylvan M. Sax, PhD
1987 - Henry Wishinsky, PhD
1986 - Sylvia Blatt
1985 - Raymond E. Vanderlinde, PhD
1984 - Jocelyn M. Hicks, PhD
1983 - Albert Dietz, PhD
1982 - Alfred H. Free, PhD
1981 - Samuel Meites, PhD
1980 - Willard Faulkner, PhD
1979 - Royden N. Rand, PhD
1978 - Joseph S. Annino
1977 - Joseph H. Boutwell, MD, PhD
1976 - Robert S. Melville, PhD
1975 - Gerald R. Cooper, PhD
1974 - Joseph Benotti
1973 - Kurt M. Dubowski, PhD
1972 - George T. Lewis, PhD
1971 - Miriam Reiner, PhD
1970 - William B. Mason, PhD
1969 - Robert L. Dryer, PhD
1968 - Harold D. Appleton, PhD
1967 - Max M. Friedman, PhD
1966 - Margret M. Kaser, PhD