AACC uses Cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing Cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award

The Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award recognizes an outstanding individual who has demonstrated a lifetime commitment to, and made important contributions that have had a significant impact on education, practice and/or research in laboratory medicine or patient care.

This award honors Wallace H. Coulter, founder of Coulter Corporation and inventor of the Coulter Principle, a simple but elegant innovation that revolutionized hematology and the practice of laboratory medicine, pioneered the field of flow cytometry and defined particle characterization. AACC's most prestigious award—presented annually at the AACC Annual Scientific Meeting & Clinical Lab Expo—commemorates Wallace Coulter's outstanding contributions to diagnostics and his championship of research and innovation. It is fitting that his legacy will be celebrated with lectures by renowned leaders in healthcare.

The Wallace H. Coulter Foundation generously supports The Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award.

Congratulations to This Year's Winner!

Dr. Michael LaposataMichael Laposata, MD, PhD

Dr. Laposata currently serves as professor and chairman of the department of pathology at the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston. He is a major champion of the concept of diagnostic management teams (DMTs), which bring together laboratorians and healthcare providers in order to create better ways to utilize the clinical laboratory. Some of the strategies used by DMTs include algorithms to manage the selection of laboratory tests as well as innovative approaches designed to help laboratorians function as consultants in the interpretation of test results.

Dr. Laposata received his MD and PhD from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and completed postdoctoral research and residency in clinical pathology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. He has held faculty positions at University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Harvard Medical School and, most recently, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, where he also served as director of clinical laboratories at Vanderbilt University Hospital.