AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Merit Awards

AACC celebrates outstanding contributions to medicine through its annual awards program, which culminates with formal recognition at the AACC Annual Scientific Meeting.

Most awards go to those in the laboratory field, but some, such as the Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award, are often given to people from other disciplines.


2019 AACC and AACC Academy Award winners pictured with AACC President Carmen L. Wiley, PhD

The 2019 AACC and AACC Academy award winners pictured with AACC President Carmen L. Wiley, PhD

2021 Award Winners

Regina BarzilayWallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award
Regina Barzilay, PhD
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Marilyn HuestisOutstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine
Marilyn A. Huestis, PhD
Institute for Emerging Health Professions
Huestis & Smith Toxicology, LLC

Elizabeth FrankOutstanding Contributions to Education in Clinical Chemistry
Elizabeth L. Frank, PhD, DABCC, FAACC
University of Utah Health
ARUP Laboratories

Salvador SenaOutstanding Contributions Through Service to the Profession of Clinical Chemistry
Salvador F. Sena, PhD, DABCC, FAACC
CTI-Clinical Trial Services, Inc.

Maria Alice WillrichOutstanding Scientific Achievements by a Young Investigator
Maria Alice Willrich, PhD
Mayo Clinic

Carmen WileyPast President Award
Carmen L. Wiley, PhD, DABCC, FAACC
Incyte Diagnostics