AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Thomas M. Annesley, PhD

Thomas Annesley

2018 Outstanding Contributions in Education

2007 The Professor Alvin Dubin Award For Outstanding Contributions To The Profession And The Academy

1987 Outstanding Scientific Achievements by a Young Investigator

Dr. Annesley is active professor emeritus of clinical chemistry at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. He is the deputy editor of the journal Clinical Chemistry and the journal’s editor for analytical techniques. He currently teaches scientific writing in the university’s faculty development program, the Michigan Institute for Clinical & Healthcare Research, and the Michigan Scholars Program. He also conducts sessions on writing for the Council of Science Editors and the American Medical Writers Association. Dr. Annesley is the author of the 14-part Clinical Chemistry Guide to Scientific Writing, which has been translated into seven languages and included in the curricula of many educational institutions in the U.S., Europe, and China. He is also the author of the Guide to Manuscript Review. He has served as director of the medical student elective in laboratory medicine program at his institution, director of the clinical laboratories continuing education lecture series, and lecturer in clinical pathology grand rounds. He chaired the Education Committee of the Michigan Section and has served the the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (formerly AACC) in many positions on the national level, including on the board of directors and on the Annual Meeting Organizing Committee. He served the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry (now the Academy of the the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM)) in many capacities, including as president. He has served on the editorial board of Clinical Chemistry for more than 25 years, as well as on the boards of Therapeutic Drug Monitoring, Clinical Biochemistry, Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine, and Biomedical Chromatography. The many awards he has received include teaching awards from his university and several ADLM outstanding speaker awards.