AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

SYCL Mentorship Award

2022 SYCL Mentorship Award Winner

Octavia Peck-Palmer

Octavia M. Peck Palmer, PhD, FAACC

Associate Professor, Departments of Pathology, Critical Care Medicine, Clinical and Translational Science, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Division Director, Clinical Chemistry
Medical Director, UPMC Presbyterian and Shadyside, Automated Testing Laboratories
Assistant Medical Director, Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC, Automated Testing Laboratories

The SYCL Mentorship Award is given annually to an AACC member who goes above the call of duty in their support of SYCL and the development of young early career scientists.


Nominations must be submitted to [email protected] by April 15th. The nomination must include a letter outlining the nominee's contributions as a mentor. One or more optional letters of support may also be included with the nomination.

Previous Winners

2021 – Elizabeth L. Frank, PhD, DABCC, FAACC
2020 – Alison Woodworth, PhD, DABCC, FAACC
2019 – Judith Stone, PhD, MT(ASCP), DABCC
2018 – Alan Wu, PhD, DABCC
2017 – Shannon Haymond, PhD, DABCC
2016 – Jim Nichols, PhD, DABCC, FACB
2015 – Carmen L. Wiley, PhD, DABCC
2014 – David G. Grenache, PhD, DABCC, FACB
2013 – Thomas Annesley, PhD, DABCC, FACB
2012 – Nader Rifai, PhD, DABCC, FACB
2011 – Ann Gronowski, PhD, DABCC, FACB