AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Industry Division Awards

Louis J. Dunka Jr. Memorial Service Award

This award is given for outstanding service to the AACC Industry Division membership or IVD industry.  It may be a single event or continuous effort.  Submit nominations by April 1 to the Division Chair.

Award: $1000


  • 2019: Judith Finlay, PhD
  • 2017: Peng Yin, MD, PhD
  • 2016: Yi-Shao Liu, PhD, Delta, Singapore
  • 2014: David Armbruster, PhD, Abbott, Abbott, IL
  • 2011: James Pierson-Perry, PhD, Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics, Glasglow, DE
  • 2010: Jacob Levine, Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics, Tarrytown, NY
  • 2009: Ronald Laessig, PhD, Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene, Madison, WI
  • 2008: Don Powers, PhD, Powers Consulting, Pittsford, NY
  • 2007: Richard R. Miller, Dade Behring, Newark, DE
  • 2006: Don Powers, PhD, Powers Consulting, Pittsford, NY
  • 2005: Mary Lou Gantzer, Dade Behring, Inc., Newark, DE

Best Abstract of Interest to the Industry Division

This award recognizes contributions to the IVD industry and is based on accepted abstracts to the AACC Annual Scientific Meeting.

Award: $500


  • 2022: Michael Balamotis, PhD
  • 2021: Jiming Zhou, PhD
  • 2020: Rana Zeeshan Haider, PhD, National Institute of Blood Diseases (NIBD), Karachi, Pakistan
  • 2019: Carly Worden, PharmD, MPH
  • 2018: Jason Cheng-ting Tsai, PhD, Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA
  • 2015: John Mills, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
  • 2014: Yi-Shao Liu, PhD, Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Co., Taiwan
  • 2013: Xiaolei Xie, PhD
  • 2012: Mari DeMarco, PhD, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MI
  • 2011: Yu-Jeong Kim, PhD Deajeon, Korea
  • 2010: Alison Woodworth, PhD, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Nashville, TN
  • 2009: Yusheng Zhu, PhD, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC
  • 2008: Yusheng Zhu, PhD, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC
  • 2007: Kenneth Pass, NYS Department of Health, Albany, NY
  • 2006: John Ellison, LifeScan, Inc., Milpitas, CA
  • 2005: Saeed Jortani, PhD, University of Louisville, KY