AACC uses Cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing Cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

AACC Academy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry in a Selected Area of Research

This award recognizes especially meritorious research contributions by an individual in a specific area of clinical chemistry. The clinical chemists who have received this award have achieved national and international status for their pioneering efforts in an area of research considered fundamental to the science and have been considered among the world’s foremost experts in that specific discipline.

Congratulations to This Year's Winner!

Ann M. Gronowski, PhD

Ann M. Gronowski, PhD, is Professor of Pathology & Immunology, and Obstetrics & Gynecology and Vice Chair of Faculty Development at Washington University School of Medicine (St. Louis Missouri). She also serves Medical Director of BJH Core Laboratory Services at Barnes-Jewish Hospital.  Dr. Gronowski received her Ph.D. in Endocrinology-Reproductive Physiology from University of Wisconsin, and is a diplomate of the American Board of Clinical Chemistry.  Dr. Gronowski is past president of the American Board of Clinical Chemistry and the American Association for Clinical Chemistry.

Dr. Gronowski’s research focuses primarily on the laboratory diagnostics of endocrinology and reproductive physiology with a particular emphasis on the pregnancy hormone, human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG). Her research on hCG has four key contributions: (1) establishing hCG beta core fragment as a cause of false negatives in certain point of care devices, (2) determining the temporal rise and fall of hCG beta core fragment in pregnancy, and thus the timeframe in which it has potential to interfere in pregnancy tests, (3) illustrating the mechanism of the analytical interference, and (4) developing strategies to mitigate the analytical interference.  In addition, she has studied the pituitary production of hCG as a source for false positive pregnancy testing. Dr. Gronowski has been invited to speak around the globe on this topic, and her work has been utilized by the IVD industry, contributing to improvements in the design of hCG lateral flow devices used every day in routine clinical care.

Previous Winners

2019 - Khosrow Adeli, PhD
2018 - Allan Jaffe, MD
2017 - Jerry Katzmann, PhD
2016 - Martin Fleisher, PhD
2015 - Daniel W. Chan, PhD
2014 - Mario Plebani, MD
2013 - Gregory J. Tsongalis, PhD
2012 - Yuk-Ming Dennis Lo, MD
2011 - Peter C. Nowell
2010 - Robin A. Felder, PhD
2009 - Fred S. Apple, PhD
2008 - Marilyn A. Huestis, PhD
2007 - Michael J. Bennett, PhD
2006 - Hugo Katus, MD
2005 - David B. Sacks, MD
2004 - Carl Wittwer, PhD
2003 - Ishwarlal Jialal, PhD
2002 - Jack H. Ladenson, PhD
2001 - James L. Wittliff, MD, PhD
2000 - Alfred H. Free, PhD
1999 - Eleftherios P. Diamandis, MD, PhD
1998 - Larry Kricka, PhD
1997 - Edwin F. Ullman, PhD
1996 - James C. Sternberg, PhD
1995 - John Albers, PhD
1994 - Ronald J. Elin, PhD
1993 - Kary B. Mullis
1992 - Walter Dandliker
1991 - Arthur Karmen, MD
1990 - Larry D. Bowers, PhD
1989 - Leland Charles Clark Jr, PhD
1989 - John W. Severinghaus, MD
1989 - Richard W. Stow, PhD
1988 - Herbert K. Naito, PhD
1987 - David E. Bruns, MD
1986 - Helen K. Berry
1985 - Peter Jatlow, MD
1984 - Robert B. McComb, PhD
1983 - Basil T. Doumas, PhD
1982 - Charles E. Pippenger, PhD
1981 - J. Stanton King, PhD
1980 - Charles D. Scott, PhD
1979 - Robert Schaffer, PhD
1978 - Harry L. Pardue, PhD
1977 - Theodore Peters, PhD
1976 - Nathan O. Kaplan, PhD
1975 - Rosalyn S. Yalow, PhD
1974 - Lena Armstrong Lewis, PhD
1973 - George N. Bowers, MD