AACC uses Cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing Cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Board of Directors

AACC’s 14-member Board of Directors is ratified by the AACC membership, based on a slate of candidates selected by the association’s membership-elected Nominating Committee after a thorough recruitment and review process.

In addition to five officers—the President, President-elect, Past President, Secretary, and Treasurer—the Board includes six directors who serve 3-year staggered terms, as well as three ex-officio members.

The Board of Directors also exercises its governance responsibilities through three standing committees—the Executive Committee, Finance Committee, and Awards Committee.

David G. Grenache, PhD, DABCC (President) is the Chief Scientific Officer at TriCore Reference Laboratories and a clinical professor of pathology at the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Stephen R. Master, MD, PhD, FAACC (President-Elect) is the Chief, Division of Laboratory Medicine at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia and Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Carmen L. Wiley, PhD, DABCC, FAACC (Past President) is the Medical Director of Clinical Labs, Incyte Diagnostics, Spokane, Washington.

Paul J. Jannetto, PhD, DABCC, FAACC (Secretary) is an Associate Professor of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology and Consultant and Laboratory Director at Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota.

Steven Kazmierczak, PhD, DABCC, FAACC (Treasurer) is a Professor of Pathology and Director of Clinical Chemistry and Toxicology at Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, Oregon.

Gyorgy Abel, MD, PhD, DABCC, FAACC (ex-officio with vote, President of the AACC Academy) is the Medical Director, Clinical Chemistry, Molecular Diagnostics, and Immunology, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Lahey Hospital & Medical Center, Beth Israel Lahey Health, Burlington, and Instructor in Pathology, Part-time, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts.

Shannon Haymond, PhD, DABCC, FAACC (Director) is the Director of Clinical Mass Spectrometry at the Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago and Associate Professor Pathology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, Illinois.

Mark Marzinke, PhD, DABCC, FAACC (Director) is an Associate Professor, Departments of Pathlogy and Medicine, at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland.

Christopher McCudden, PhD, DABCC, FACB, FCACB (Director) is the Vice Chair, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, University of Ottawa; Deputy Chief Medical and Scientific Officer — Eastern Ontario Regional Laboratory Association; Clinical Biochemist, Division of Biochemistry, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, The Ottawa Hospital; and Associate Professor, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, University of Ottawa, Ottawa ON, Canada.

Octavia M. Peck Palmer, PhD, FAACC (Director) is an Associate Professor, Departments of Pathology, Critical Care Medicine, Clinical and Translational Science at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

David B. Sacks, MB, ChB, FRCPath (Director) is an Adjunct Professor of Medicine at Georgetown University, and a Clinical Professor of Pathology at George Washington University, Washington, DC.

Christine Schmotzer, MD (Director), is Chief, Division of Clinical Pathology, University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center; Co-Director, University Hospitals Diagnostic Institute; and Associate Professor of Pathology, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio.

David Shiembob, C(ASCP), MBA (ex-officio with vote, Chair of Clinical Laboratory Scientists Council) is a Senior Healthcare Consultant at ARUP Laboratories, Salt Lake City, Utah.