AACC Announces 2017 Candidates

David G. Grenache, PhD, AACC secretary, announced the slate of candidates for the association’s 2017 elections. The online election process will begin on September 1, 2016 where the membership will have the opportunity to vote for each candidate on the single-candidate slate and to elect three members to the nominating committee through a plurality vote. Under the new governance approved by the AACC board of directors in November 2015, the nominating committee identifies a single candidate for each open officer and board position and more candidates than open positions for the Nominating Committee.


Dennis J. Dietzen, PhD, Professor of Pediatrics and pathology & Immunology, Washington University Medical Director, Core laboratory, St. Louis Children’s Hospital Medical Director, Metabolic Genetics Laboratory, St. Louis Children’s Hospital, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri.


Anthony A. Killeen, MD, PhD, Professor and Vice-Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Board of Directors

Lorin Bachmann, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Pathology, Co-Director of Clinical Chemistry, Co-Director, Point of Care Testing, Virginia Commonwealth University Health, Richmond, Virginia.

Stephen R. Master, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Director, Central Lab; Chief of Clinical Chemistry Laboratory Services, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Weill Cornell Medicine, New York, New York.

Nominating Committee

Thomas Annesley, PhD, Professor Emeritus of Clinical Chemistry, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Thomas E. Burgess, PhD, Technical Director, Quest Diagnostics, Inc., Tucker, Georgia.

Robert Christenson, PhD, Clinical Director of Core Laboratories and Medical Director of Point of Care Services, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland.

Michael John Hallworth, MA, MSc, Retired Clinical Chemist, Co-Editor-In-Chief, Practical Laboratory Medicine, Shrewsbury, Shropshire, United Kingdom.

Mitchell G. Scott, PhD, Professor, Department of Pathology & Immunology, Division of Laboratory & Genomic Medicine, Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri; Co-Medical Director of Clinical Chemistry and Point of Care Testing, Barnes-Jewish Hospital, St. Louis, Missouri.

Donald Wiebe, PhD, MS, Associate Professor, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine; Director, Toxicology Laboratory, University of Wisconsin Hospitals & Clinics, Madison, Wisconsin.