AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

POCT Professional Certification Board

The AACC Point-of-Care Testing (POCT) Professional Certification Board oversees the certification process for individuals who apply to receive AACC’s Certified Point-of-Care Testing Professional (CPP) designation. This certification program is designed for all personnel who perform diagnostic tests outside the central laboratory, including near-patient testing, point-of-care device selection and validation, quality management, operator training, regulatory compliance, and liaison with the central laboratory. Those who receive the designation CPP will demonstrate to patients and healthcare colleagues and institutions that they have proven expertise in this field.

Call for Nominations

Deadline: July 9, 2021 

The POCT Professional Certification Board is seeking nominations for POCT experts to serve on the Board starting August 1, 2021. Self-nominations are welcome. Learn more about the open Board positions here.

Submit a nomination 

Board Officers

T. Scott Isbell, PhD, DABCC (President)
Medical Director of Clinical Chemistry
Saint Louis University

Elizabeth L. Frank, PhD, DABCC (Secretary)
Professor of Pathology
University of Utah

Lou Ann Wyer, MS, MT(ASCP) (Chair, Nominating Committee)
Director, Laboratory Services (retired)
Sentara Healthcare

Corinne Fantz, PhD
Director, Scientific Affairs, POCT
Roche Diagnostics Corp.

Kimberly Skala, MS, MT(ASCP)
Clinical Applications Manager, Critical Care Division
Instrumentation Laboratory

Veronica Luzzi, PhD, DABCC (Chair, Examinations Committee)
Medical Director, Providence Regional Core Laboratory
Providence Health

James Nichols, PhD
Director, Clinical Chemistry
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Brenda Suh-Lailam, PhD
Director of Clinical Chemistry
Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago

Marcia Zucker, PhD, MT(ASCP)

Bradley Karon, MD, PhD (Chair, Credentialing Committee)
Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
Mayo Clinic

Elia Mears, MT(ASCP)
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations

Adonica Wilson, MT(ASCP)
Point of Care Coordinator
A. I. DuPont Hospital for Children

Other Program Contributors

The AACC Board of Certification would also like to acknowledge the point-of-care testing experts on the Certification Program Task Force who developed the Point-of-Care Testing Professional Certification program, as well as the additional point-of-care testing experts throughout North America who collaborated to develop the certification exam.