AACC uses Cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing Cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Southern California Local Section Awards

Herbert O. Carne Service Award of the AACC Southern California Local Section

This award was established in the mid-1980s and Herbert O. Carne was the only individual who received it. After his passing in 1990, it was renamed in his memory. The Herbert O. Carne Service Award is given to a member of the AACC Southern California Local Section for services performed in behalf of our local section for a long and extended period of time to advance the profession in the educational, training, organizational and/or legislative areas.


Raj Pandian, PhD (2014)

Darryl Palmer-Toy, MD, PhD (2011)

Nathan Gochman, PhD (2008)

Paul Fu, PhD (2008)

Bruce Rosenweig, PhD (2005)

Mirta Galmarini-Trapp (2002)

Mary Ann Cuviello (2000)

Jack Zakowski, PhD (1998)

Roy Schall, PhD (1996)

Sol Notrica, PhD (1994)

Jean Joseph, PhD (1992)

Imre A. Fisher, PhD (1990)

Herbert O. Carne (mid-1980s)

Albert L. Nichols Innovation Award in Laboratory Medicine

This award was established in 2000 from the endowment funds donated by the Albert and Tricia Nichols Foundation. The purpose of the award is to recognize a person or persons or organizations for having implemented strategic innovation in clinical laboratory medicine that will have long-term impact on improvement in patient diagnosis and/or treatment.


Alan Wu, PhD (2013)

Dan Chan, PhD (2010)

James Winkelman, MD (2007)

Delbert Fisher, MD (2004)

James B. Peter, MD, PhD (2001)

Chaney Award

Dr. Albert L. Chaney is generally recognized as the father of the AACC Southern California Section. Dr. Chaney was a pioneer in the application of chemical methods to the diagnosis of human diseases. After his death in 1970, our Section established the Chaney Award in his memory. The award is given periodically to an individual who closely emulates Dr. Chaney’s career contributions in research, education and chemical technology.

Richard J. Henry, MD

Clifford B Walberg, PhD

James Sternberg, PhD

Arnold G. Ware, PhD

Gerald F. Lanchantin, PhD

M. Michael Lubran, MD, PhD (1991)

James B. Peter, MD (1993)

Paul Fu, PhD (1995)

Paul Wolf, MD (1997)

Albert Nichols, MD (1999)

Nathan Gochman, PhD (2001)

Carol A. Spencer, PhD (2003)

Peter J. Howanitz, MD (2006)

David Endres, PhD (2009)

Ran Pandian, PhD (2012)

Anthony Butch, PhD (2015)