AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Professor Alvin Dubin Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Profession and the Academy

The award is named in honor of the late Academy member who contributed significantly to the development of AACC Academy and served as President in 1983-84. The award recognizes a current or past member of the Academy who has made noteworthy advances enhancing the mission and stature of AACC Academy. The nomination should include a letter of nomination, three letters of reference, and a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae.

Congratulations to This Year's Winner!

Roger Bertholf>

Roger L. Bertholf, PhD, DABCC, FAACC, MASCP

Roger L. Bertholf, PhD, is Medical Director of Clinical Chemistry and Program Director for the Clinical Chemistry Fellowship in the Department of Pathology and Genomic Medicine at Houston Methodist Hospital, and Professor of Clinical Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Weill Cornell Medicine. Bertholf served as president of the AACC Academy 2019-20, and president of the Association of Clinical Scientists 2004-5. He chaired the Florida Board of Clinical Laboratory Personnel 2008-10, the Professional Practice in Clinical Chemistry Review Course 2009-11, and the AACC Southeast Local Section in 2017. Bertholf received a Diploma of Honor in 2005 from the Association of Clinical Scientists, the 2011 Southeast Regional Member Award, the 2014 President's Award and 2020 Mastership Award from the American Society for Clinical Pathology, and the 2020 AACC Outstanding Contributions to Education in Clinical Chemistry Award. Bertholf has been Editor in Chief of Laboratory Medicine since 2012.

Previous Winners

2021 - Angela Ferguson, PhD
2020 - Donald Wiebe, PhD
2019 - David Koch, PhD
2018 - Loralie Langman, PhD
2017 - Roland Valdes, PhD
2016 - William Winter, MD
2015 - Michael J. Bennett, PhD
2014 - Stanley F. Lo, PhD

AACC Academy Designation

Fellows of AACC Academy use the designation of FAACC. This designation is equivalent to FACB, the previous designation used by fellows of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry, which became AACC Academy in 2016.