AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

George Grannis Award for Excellence in Research and Scientific Publication

Scientific and research excellence by clinical chemistry students and trainees is recognized through the Grannis award. The late George Grannis was the second President of the Academy. A man of great curiosity, profound thinking, and creativity, Dr. Grannis’ interests and published research included findings in the areas of protein biochemistry in health and disease, normal and abnormal blood coagulation, proficiency evaluation of clinical laboratories, biochemistry of aging, and quality control of enzyme analyses.

This award includes a guest lectureship at an Ohio Valley Local Section meeting during the year of the award. All current and past students in undergraduate, graduate, or postdoctoral clinical chemistry training programs who were enrolled sometime during the three-year period prior to the year of the award will be considered candidates for this award. The student must have published a paper indexed in Index Medicus during this same time period. Names of students from ComACC-accredited programs may be submitted by the program director. Names of students from non-ComACC-accredited programs may be submitted by their mentors. The nomination should include a letter of nomination, a list of papers authored by the student, and a copy of the trainee's curriculum vitae. Literature references should include sufficient information to locate the papers; links to PubMed abstracts are suitable.

Sponsored by AACC Academy and the Ohio Valley Local Section.

Congratulations to This Year's Winner!

Ruben Y. Luo, PhD, DABCC

Ruben Y. Luo, PhD, DABCC, is an Assistant Professor of Pathology at Stanford University and the Associate Director of Clinical Chemistry and Immunology Laboratory at Stanford Health Care. He received his PhD in chemistry from Stanford University, and worked in the clinical diagnostic industry for several years holding multiple managerial positions. He completed his fellowship in clinical chemistry at the University of California San Francisco. Dr. Luo has published over 30 peer-reviewed articles, case studies, industrial journal articles, and obtained several patents. His research focuses on applying label-free immunoassays to serology tests and antibody drug monitoring, and developing top-down mass spectrometry techniques for structural characterization of diagnostic markers. 

Previous Winners

2021 - Christopher Farnsworth, PhD, DABCC, FAACC
2020 - Xander van Wijk, PhD, DABCC
2019 - Gabrielle Winston-McPherson, PhD
2018 - Phedias Diamandis, MD, PhD
2017 - Roy Peake, PhD
2016 - Joe El-Khoury, PhD
2015 - Mark A. Marzinke, PhD
2014 - Andrei Drabovich, PhD

AACC Academy Designation

Fellows of AACC Academy use the designation of FAACC. This designation is equivalent to FACB, the previous designation used by fellows of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry, which became AACC Academy in 2016.