Khosrow Adeli

Mentor Interview

Khosrow Adeli, Ph.D., FCACB, FACB, DABCC

Dr. Khosrow Adeli obtained his Ph.D. and M.Sc. in Biochemistry from the University of Ottawa and subsequently completed a postdoctoral fellowship in Clinical Biochemistry at the University of Toronto. Dr. Adeli is currently head and full Professor of Clinical Biochemistry at the Hospital for Sick Children and the Departments of Biochemistry, and Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology at the University of Toronto in Toronto, Canada. He is also the Director of Point of Care Testing program at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto.

Dr. Adeli is actively involved in AACC and CACC, and is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Clinical Biochemistry and a diplomate of the American Board of Clinical Chemistry. He has served as the Editor-in-Chief of the journal Clinical Biochemistry for 7 years (1999-2006) and is currently an editorial board member of the Clinical Biochemist Reviews. Dr. Adeli served as the President of ComACC, the Commission on Accreditation in Clinical Chemistry, from 2006-2010. He currently serves as the Vice-Chair of Publications and Communications Division of the International Federation of Clinical Chemistry (IFCC), as well as the Public Relations Coordinator for the IFCC organization.

Dr. Adeli has been actively involved in both basic and clinical laboratory research, holding a number of prominent research operating grants. To date he has published over 200 peer reviewed articles and abstracts which are primarily in the areas of lipoprotein metabolism, insulin resistance, and pediatric reference intervals. He has received several national and international awards for research excellence including the Merck Senior Investigator Award of the Canadian Lipoprotein Conference (2008), the Canadian Society of Clinical Chemistry National Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry (2006), Canadian Academy of Clinical Biochemistry National Award (2004), the Canadian Society of Clinical Chemistry Research Excellence Award (1999), Bristol-Meyers Squib Young Investigator (1995), the Merck Senior Investigator Award (1997), and the Simon-Pierre Noel Award (2001) from the Canadian Lipoprotein Conference.