AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award

The Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award recognizes an outstanding individual who has demonstrated a lifetime commitment to, and made important contributions that have had a significant impact on education, practice and/or research in laboratory medicine or patient care.

This award honors Wallace H. Coulter, founder of Coulter Corporation and inventor of the Coulter Principle, a simple but elegant innovation that revolutionized hematology and the practice of laboratory medicine, pioneered the field of flow cytometry and defined particle characterization. The Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine’s (formerly AACC) most prestigious award—presented annually at the the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM) Annual Scientific Meeting & Clinical Lab Expo—commemorates Wallace Coulter's outstanding contributions to diagnostics and his championship of research and innovation. It is fitting that his legacy will be celebrated with lectures by renowned leaders in healthcare.

The Wallace H. Coulter Foundation generously supports The Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award.

Congratulations to the 2023 Winner

Jeffrey GordonJeffrey Gordon, MD

Jeffrey Gordon, MD, received his AB from Oberlin College and his MD from the University of Chicago. He completed his clinical training in internal medicine and gastroenterology at Washington University and was a post-doctoral fellow in the Laboratory of Biochemistry at NIH’s National Cancer Institute. In 1981, he joined the faculty at Washington University, where he has spent his entire career, first as a member of the Departments of Medicine and Biological Chemistry, then as Head of the Department of Molecular Biology and Pharmacology (1991-2003), and now as Founding Director of the University’s interdepartmental, interdisciplinary Center for Genome Sciences and Systems Biology. Gordon is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine, and the American Philosophical Society. 

Gordon is also the recipient of the Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology from the National Academy of Sciences (2013), the Robert Koch Award (2013), the Passano Laureate Award (2014), the Dickson Prize in Medicine (2014), the King Faisal International Prize in Medicine (2015), the Keio Medical Science Prize (2015), the Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize (2017), the Copley Medal from the Royal Society (2018), the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Biology and Biomedicine (2019), the George M. Kober Medal from the Association of American Physicians (2021), the Balzan Prize (2021) plus honorary degrees from the University of Gothenburg (Doctor of Medical Sciences, 2011) and the University of Chicago (Doctor of Science, 2014). His impact is also evident in the group of 142 PhD students and post-doctoral fellows who have trained in his lab. His trainees have played key roles in shaping this field, with a number becoming leaders in microbiome science.

Previous Winners

2022 - George Church, PhD
2021 - Regina Barzilay, PhD
2020 - Michael Laposata, MD, PhD
2019 - David R. Walt, PhD
2018 - Brian Druker, MD
2017 - Jennifer Doudna, PhD
2016 - John T. McDevitt, PhD
2015 - Yuk-Ming Dennis Lo, MD
2014 - Eric J. Topol, MD
2013 - C. Ronald Kahn, MD
2012 - Eric D. Green
2011 - Mary-Claire King, PhD
2010 - John Trojanowski
2009 - Jerome E. Groopman, MD