AACC uses Cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing Cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Northern California Local Section Awards

Congratulations to our 2018 award winners

Alan Wu, 2017 Awards Chair, presented awards to the following individuals at our annual awards dinner on March 15, 2018.

Sue Evans Award

Susan Evans, PhD, FAACC

BioDecisions Consulting

Won the award for Outstanding Contribution in Clinical Chemistry through Science and Technology.  Sue began her career in clinical diagnostics at Baxter Diagnostics where she served in various R&D roles, assuming the leadership role as Dade Behring’s senior vice president of R&D (1994-2000). Dr. Evans has led organizations in the development of IVD diagnostic systems and assays across a wide range of laboratory disciplines. Sue most recently served as vice president, scientific affairs at Beckman Coulter.

Howard Y. Koo, MS, CLS

Retired, MS CLS Program
Dominican University of California

Won the award for the Outstanding Contribution in Clinical Chemistry through Education.  This was in recognition of his involvement in the CLS program at Dominican University as an Instructor. Well deservedly, he recently retired.

Thomas Kampfrath, PhD

Medical Affairs
Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics Inc

Won the Harold Van Remortal Service Award in honor of his long and dedicated service to the Northern California local section as the Treasurer.

M. Laura Parnas, PhD

Sr. Scientific Affairs Manager, Non-cardiac
Roche Diagnostics Corporation

Received the Past Chair Award for her superb leadership over the past year.