AACC uses Cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing Cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology Division Awards

Carl R. Jolliff Award for Lifetime Achievement in Clinical or Diagnostic Immunology

The Carl R. Jolliff Award for Lifetime Achievement in Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology was instituted in 2006 by the Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology Division (CDID) of AACC in memory of Carl R. Jolliff. Carl had an exemplary career in both clinical service and education and this award recognizes a member of the AACC with an outstanding achievement in either of those areas. The Jolliff Award consists of an honorarium ($1,000). The award will be presented at the AACC Annual Meeting.

  • Division: Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology
  • Award: Carl R. Jolliff Award for Lifetime Achievement in Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology
  • Eligibility: Current AACC members
  • Recognizes: Outstanding contributions in service or education in the area of immunology or immunodiagnostics.
  • Funding: $1,000
  • Deadline: April 1st each year
  • Nomination: Nominations must be submitted by members of the AACC before the deadline using the on-line form. The nominations must include contact information and an on-line letter of nomination limited to 500 words that includes a description of the nominee's achievements in service in clinical or diagnostic immunology or outstanding contributions to education in clinical or diagnostic immunology. Selection will be made by a committee chaired by the Past Chair of CDID. Click here for the online nomination form.

Carl Joliff

Carl R. Jolliff (1926-2003)

Carl Jolliff was born on July 2, 1926, in Lakewood, Ohio. He graduated from the University of Iowa. During WWII he served as an Army Medic in Europe. He was Co-Director of the Hastings Medical Laboratory (Nebraska) and Lincoln Medical Laboratory from 1951 to 1958 and also served as Director of Clinical Labs at Hastings State Hospital from 1953 to 1956. Carl was Director of the Clinical Laboratory at Lincoln Clinic (Nebraska) from 1958 to 1991 and Chief of Immunology and Immunochemistry for Physician's Lab Services 1991-2000 Carl was a Research Scientist with the Lincoln Medical Research Foundation and served on its Board of Directors. He also served as a visiting professor at the Nebraska Wesleyan University where he taught Immunology and Pathophysiology for more than 30 years. Carl was a Specialist Microbiologist (American Academy of Microbiology) and was affiliated with many associations including, the Lincoln Medical Research Foundation, American Academy of Microbiology, American Chemists Society, American Society of Microbiology, Sigma Xi Honorary Society, American Society for Medical Technologists, New York Academy of Sciences, and the American Association for Clinical Chemistry. As member of AACC for over 45 years, Carl served on several local and national committees, including the Division of Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology where he served as Membership Chair. Internationally recognized for his contributions in the area of clinical electrophoresis, his research activities included the study of pediatric patients with repeated infectious episodes and allergic states and the development of methods in immunochemistry in relation to immunoglobulins and specific proteins as manifested in various disease states. Carl also served as a consultant and guest lecturer at numerous colleges and universities as well as clinical laboratories throughout the country, and his publications on electrophoresis, immunoelectrophoresis, and protein quantitation have served as analytical guidelines to many laboratorians.

Past Award Recipients


2019 Roshini S. Abraham, PhD

2018 James D. Faix, MD

2017 Steven Binder

2016 Marvin Fritzler, MD

2015 Jerry Katzmann,PhD

2013 Eleftherios Diamandis, MD, PhD

2012 Daniel W. Chan, PhD

2011 Ondrej Topolcan, MD

2010 William Korzun, PhD

2009 Herbert Fritsche, PhD

2008 Ishwarlal Jialal, MD, PhD

2007 Pui-Yuen Wong, PhD

2006 David Keren, MD