AACC uses Cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing Cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Outstanding Contributions to Education in Clinical Chemistry

This award recognizes an individual who has devoted a major portion of his/her professional life to enhancing the practice and profession of clinical chemistry through education. The educator selected for this award has made significant, innovative, and/or cumulatively outstanding contributions to education in clinical laboratory science. These contributions should include excellence in education beyond the local level, with widespread recognition of the recipient's excellence which may include teaching, directing, mentoring, writing, and speaking abilities, ideally to multiple levels of audiences.

Congratulations to This Year's Winner!

William Clarke, PhD

Dr. Clarke is professor of pathology at The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore as well as the director of point-of-care testing and clinical toxicology at its hospital. He joined the staff at Johns Hopkins after completing a postdoctoral fellowship in clinical chemistry there. He is co-director of its clinical chemistry fellowship program. Dr. Clarke has contributed to education at the national level with service to the AACC, the AACC Academy, and the Clinical Laboratory Standards Institute. He was a member of the AACC professional practice education committee, lectured in the professional practice course for many years, chaired the education committee of the AACC Proteomics Division, and has received many AACC outstanding speaker awards. He is the editor of Contemporary Practice in Clinical Chemistry, a widely used text for clinical chemistry fellows and pathology residents. He has served the AACC as a leader in many capacities, including as chair of the government relations committee, chair of the Critical and Point-of-Care Testing Division, treasurer of the TDM-Toxicology Division, chair of the Capital Section, and member of the board of directors. He served as treasurer of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry (now the AACC Academy). His research interests include clinical mass spectrometry, method development for therapeutic drug monitoring, clinical toxicology, point-of-care testing, and development of biomarkers for use in drug management. Dr. Clarke has published as author or co-author more than 130 peer-reviewed manuscripts or book chapters, is the co-editor-in-chief of the journal Practical Laboratory Medicine, and is a reviewer for more than 20 journals.

Previous Winners

2018 - Thomas Annesley, PhD
2017 - Eleftherios P. Diamandis, MD, PhD
2016 - Ann M. Gronowski, PhD
2015 - Nader Rifai, PhD
2014 - Michael L. Astion, PhD
2013 - David E. Bruns, MD
2012 - David B. Sacks, MD
2011 - Edward R. Ashwood, MD
2010 - Amitava Dasgupta, PhD
2009 - Michael Laposata, MD
2008 - William E. Winter, MD
2007 - Craig A. Lehmann, PhD
2006 - Catherine A. Hammett-Stabler, PhD
2005 - Robert H. Christenson, PhD
2004 - Larry Broussard, PhD
2003 - Paul Wolf, MD
2002 - Alan Wu, PhD
2001 - Lawrence M. Silverman, PhD
2000 - Mitchell Scott, PhD
1999 - D. Robert Dufour, MD
1998 - Christopher P. Price, PhD
1997 - Christopher S. Frings, PhD
1996 - Oren Zinder, PhD
1995 - Peter Jatlow, MD
1994 - Jiro J. Kaneko, DVM, PhD
1993 - Richard B. Passey, PhD
1992 - Herbert A. Fritsche, PhD
1991 - Marge A. Brewster, PhD
1990 - H. Peter Lehmann, PhD
1989 - Jack H. Ladenson, PhD
1988 - Julius Kerkay, PhD
1987 - John Al Lott, PhD
1986 - Edward C. Knoblock
1985 - Richard H. Gadsden, Sr., PhD
1984 - Allan G. Gornall, PhD
1983 - Edward W. Bermes, PhD
1982 - Harry F. Weisberg, MD
1981 - F. William Sunderman, Sr., MD, PhD
1980 - Roger J. Thibert, PhD
1979 - Paige K. Besch, PhD
1978 - Hanns-Dieter Gruemer, MD
1977 - Hugh J. McDonald, DSc
1976 - Norbet W. Tietz, PhD
1975 - Max E. Chilcote, PhD
1974 - Morton K. Schwartz, PhD
1973 - Joseph I Routh, PhD
1972 - Martin Rubin, PhD
1971 - Alex Kaplan, PhD