AACC uses Cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing Cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

Outstanding Contributions Through Service to the Profession of Clinical Chemistry

This award recognizes the individuals who have worked throughout their careers to advance the professional status of clinical chemists and the professional objectives of the AACC. 

Congratulations to This Year's Winner!

Mario PlebaniMario Plebani, MD

Dr. Plebani is professor of clinical biochemistry and clinical molecular biology at the University of Padova school of medicine and chief of the department of laboratory medicine at the University Hospital of Padova in Italy. He is also dean of the university’s medical school and director of its postgraduate course of clinical pathology and clinical biochemistry. He served as president of the International Society of Enzymology for four years, president of the Italian Society of Clinical Biochemistry and Molecular Clinical Biology for five years, and president of the Federation of Italian Societies of Laboratory Medicine for three years. Dr. Plebani is editor-in-chief of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine and co-editor-in-chief of Diagnosis. He serves on the editorial boards of seven journals and as a referee for 17 more. He has published 1100 papers, more than 900 abstracts, 20 books, and 50 book chapters. He has delivered 150 lectures—including opening and keynote lectures—at national and international conferences. Among his many honors, he has received the King Prize for achievement in clinical enzymology from the International Society for Clinical Enzymology, an award for outstanding contributions from the AACC Management Sciences Division, the AACC award for outstanding contributions to patient safety, an honorary professorship from the University of Buenos Aires in Argentina, and an International Federation of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine award for laboratory medicine and patient care.

Previous Winners

2018 - Fred S. Apple, PhD
2017 - Ian Young, MD
2016 - Larry A. Broussard, PhD
2015 - Graham H. Beastall, PhD
2014 - James C. Boyd, MD
2013 - D. Robert Dufour, MD
2012 - John E. Sherwin, PhD
2011 - Mary Lou Gantzer, PhD
2010 - Ann Gronowski, PhD
2009 - Donald S. Young, PhD
2008 - Susan A. Evans, PhD
2007 - Mathias Müller, MD
2006 - Gary L. Myers, PhD, FACB
2005 - Roland Valdes, PhD
2004 - Karen L. Nickel, PhD
2003 - Frank A. Sedor, PhD
2002 - David Uddin, PhD
2001 - Stephen E. Kahn, PhD
2000 - Mary F. Burritt, PhD
1999 - Jean C. Joseph, PhD
1998 - Jacob B. Levine
1997 - Thomas P. Moyer, PhD
1996 - Lawrence M. Killingsworth, PhD
1995 - Roger Boeckx, PhD
1994 - K. Michael Parker, PhD
1993 - Gerald Gallwas
1992 - K. Owen Ash, PhD
1991 - Theodore Peters, PhD
1990 - Ronald H. Laessig, PhD
1989 - Morton K. Schwartz, PhD
1988 - Sylvan M. Sax, PhD
1987 - Henry Wishinsky, PhD
1986 - Sylvia Blatt
1985 - Raymond E. Vanderlinde, PhD
1984 - Jocelyn M. Hicks, PhD
1983 - Albert Dietz, PhD
1982 - Alfred H. Free, PhD
1981 - Samuel Meites, PhD
1980 - Willard Faulkner, PhD
1979 - Royden N. Rand, PhD
1978 - Joseph S. Annino
1977 - Joseph H. Boutwell, MD, PhD
1976 - Robert S. Melville, PhD
1975 - Gerald R. Cooper, PhD
1974 - Joseph Benotti
1973 - Kurt M. Dubowski, PhD
1972 - George T. Lewis, PhD
1971 - Miriam Reiner, PhD
1970 - William B. Mason, PhD
1969 - Robert L. Dryer, PhD
1968 - Harold D. Appleton, PhD
1967 - Max M. Friedman, PhD
1966 - Margret M. Kaser, PhD