June 6, 2006 Presentation: Implementing Parmacogenetics Into a Molecular Diagnostics Reference Lab

Gwendolyn A. McMillin, PhD is Medical Director of Toxicology at ARUP Laboratories, Inc., and Assistant Professor of Pathology at the University of Utah , School of Medicine , in Salt Lake City , UT. Formal training includes a PhD in pharmacology from the University of Utah , where her research focused on mechanisms of anticonvulsant drug efficacy and toxicity, and post-doctoral training in clinical chemistry through the Department of Pathology at the University of Utah . She is certified by the American Board of Clinical Chemistry in Clinical Chemistry and Toxicological Chemistry. Currently she oversees research and clinical testing related to therapeutic drugs, drugs of abuse, trace and toxic elements, and pharmacogenetics. Dr McMillin contributes to and serves as a reviewer for several professional journals, books and other publications. She also actively participates in the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry (Publications Committee member), and the TDM and Toxicology Division (Secretary) of the American Association for Clinical Chemistry.

Elaine Lyon, PhD is the medical director of Molecular Genetics and assistant director of Molecular Sequencing at ARUP Laboratories. She is an assistant professor of pathology at the University of Utah . She received her PhD in medical genetics from the University of Alabama at Birmingham . She continued with fellowship training in clinical molecular genetics at the University of Utah . Dr. Lyon is certified by the American Board of Medical Genetics with a subspecialty in clinical molecular genetics. Dr. Lyon oversees both clinical testing and research pertaining to mutation detection for inherited diseases. Along with Dr. McMillin, she directs testing and development for pharmacogenetic tests. Dr. Lyon is a member of the American Association for Clinical Chemisty, Academy of Laboratory Physicians and Scientists (executive council), American Society of Human Genetics, American College of Medical Genetics (program committee) and Association for Molecular Pathology (chair, clinical practice committee).

Page Access: