November 2007 Clinical Laboratory News: Election Results


November 2007: Volume 33, Number 11

Barbara Goldsmith Elected 2009 AACC President


Barbara M. Goldsmith, PHD, FACB

The membership of the AACC elected Barbara M. Goldsmith, PhD, FACB to serve as President of the association during 2009, announced AACC Secretary Robert Murray, JD, PhD. Also newly elected are Elizabeth L. Frank, PhD (University of Utah, Salt Lake City), Greg Miller, PhD (Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond) to serve as members of the Board of Directors, as well as Anthony W. Butch, PhD (University of California, Los Angeles) as Secretary. Four individuals were elected to serve on the Nominating Committee: Judy A. Stone, PhD (Chair-Elect, San Francisco General Hospital, San Francisco, Calif.), Corinne R. Fantz, PhD (Emory University, Atlanta, Ga.), Stephen M. Manzella, PhD (York Hospital, York, Pa.), and Donald A. Wiebe, PhD (University of Wisconsin, Madison).

Goldsmith takes her place as AACC’s 60th President, having been active in the association since 1978. She is currently Vice President of Laboratory Services at Caritas Christi Health Care, a six-hospital system in Boston, Mass. She is also the Director of Laboratory Services at EXCELL Clinical Laboratories/St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center and the Medical Director for Caritas Medical Laboratories. Goldsmith has held many AACC positions, including Chair of the 2007 Annual Meeting Organizing Committee.

During her term, Goldsmith plans to focus on education through AACC programs and publications. “Building upon our relationships with other organizations and Lab Test Online, we can develop educational programs using Web casts that allow us to react quickly to changes in healthcare and laboratory medicine,” said Goldsmith. “These activities will contribute to improving the quality of healthcare and provide education to ourselves, our colleagues in medicine, and to the public.”

Page Access: