American Association for Clinical Chemistry
Better health through laboratory medicine
November 2010 Clinical Laboratory News: W. Greg Miller Chosen as AACC President-Elect

CLN Banner Logo

November 2010: Volume 36, Number 11

W. Greg Miller Chosen as AACC President-Elect

AACC members elected W. Greg Miller, PhD, DABCC, FACB, to serve as President-Elect of the association during 2011, announced AACC Secretary Anthony Butch, PhD. Also newly elected as members of the Board of Directors are David G. Grenache, PhD, MT(ASCP), DABCC, FACB and Patricia M. (Patti) Jones, PhD, DABCC, FACB. Four individuals were elected to serve on the Nominating Committee: James C. Ritchie, PhD, DABCC, FACB, Chair-Elect; Graham Beastall, PhD, FRCPath, FRCP(Glas), CBE; Bonny Lewis Van, PhD, FACB; and Steven J. Zibrat, MS, MT(ASCP).

W. Greg Miller, 
AACC President-Elect

Miller takes his place as AACC’s President-Elect next year, having been active in the association since 1974. He is professor of pathology, director of clinical chemistry, and director of pathology information systems at Virginia Commonwealth University Medical Center in Richmond. Miller has served the association in several capacities. His current AACC duties include member of the board of directors, associate editor of Clinical Chemistry journal, and AACC liaison to the International Organization for Standardization Technical Committee 212 for Clinical Laboratory Testing and In Vitro Diagnostic Test Systems. Miller was also honored in 2007 with the AACC Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine.

During his term, one of Miller’s key areas of focus will be continuing education that will help members remain current with evolving technology and laboratory medicine. “My primary goal will be to ensure that AACC meets its members’ expectations and professional needs,” said Miller.