Nutrition Division Awards

AACC Nutrition Division Abstract Award

Award presented for outstanding research in nutrition. Awardee must be a member of AACC, be the presenting author of an abstract that has been accepted for the upcoming AACC annual meeting in the field of nutrition, and be willing to give a short presentation on the research at the Nutrition Division annual meeting.

2013 Chestina Voma
2012 Dr. Qing-He Meng
2011 Ms. Natalie Weir and Dr. Aners Berg
2010 None awarded
2009 Irina Kirpich and Andrew Hoofnagle

AACC Nutrition Division Service Award

Award presented to an individual who, as a member of the Nutrition Division, has given generously of their time towards the development and advancement of the Nutrition Division.

2013 Dr. Vinita Mishra
2012 Ms. Naomi Hanson
2011 Dr. Larry Bernstein
2010 Ms. Sandra Botnan

Garry/Labbe Award for Contributions to Laboratory
Assessment of Nutritional Status
Sponsored by the AACC Nutrition Division and Beckman Coulter, Inc.

Nominations for the Garry/Labbe Award are requested by March 15 each year and should be sent to the Nutrition Division chair with a brief description of the nominee's contributions to laboratory assessment of nutritional status. This award is given in honor of Dr. Philip Garry and Dr. Robert Labbe who devoted their careers to advancing knowledge of nutritional chemistry and its role in human health. Dr. Garry was known for his work as principal investigator of the New Mexico Aging Process Study (NMAPS) funded by the NIH National Institute on Aging. He helped found the AACC Nutrition Division and became its first chair. Dr. Labbe was Professor of Laboratory Medicine at the University of Washington, Seattle. He received many awards for his research which included porphyrins, metalloporphyrins, and other pyrrole compounds, including the chemistry, biochemistry, and molecular pathology of many of these metabolites.




Dr. Ishwarlal Jialal


Dr. Sreekumaran Nair


Michael M. Meguid, MD


Frank N. Konstantinides


Dr. Jose M. Ordovas


Dr. John Milner


None awarded


None awarded


Richard Tulley, PhD


Larry Bernstein, MD


Elaine Gunter


Elia Mears


Sharon Miller


Peggy Borum


Page Access: