2010 Award for Outstanding Contributions to Management Sciences and Patient Safety

James S. Hernandez, M.D., M.S.
Dr. Jim Hernandez, a native of Pueblo, Colorado, is board-certified in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology. Prior to joining the faculty of the Mayo Clinic in 2001, he was in private community hospital practice in Minnesota in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology from 1985 until 2001 where he was involved in starting a successful outreach laboratory.    
Dr. Hernandez served as the Associate Medical Director for Mayo Medical Laboratories from 2001 to 2004.  He is involved in the integration and standardization of the laboratories of the Mayo Clinic.  He also served as the Chairman of the Department of Laboratory Medicine's Clinical Practice Committee, which addresses lab utilization. He was a member of the Personnel Committee at Mayo Clinic, which addresses disruptive physician behavior.  He instituted a leadership and management program for residents and fellows at Mayo Clinic in 2004 to prepare them for their roles as future laboratory medical directors.  He is a member of the Mayo Clinic Quality Review Board.
He has been the Medical Director of the laboratories and Chair of the Division of Laboratory Medicine at Mayo Clinic in Arizona since 2008.   
Dr. Hernandez serves as the Chair of the CAP Self Assessment Module (SAM) Committee and is a member of the CAP Council on Education.  He leads the CAP Laboratory Medical Director Certificate Program Working Group.
Dr. Hernandez has a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Notre Dame, a Medical Degree from the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center in Denver, and a Masters of Science in Preventive Medicine and Administrative Medicine from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, encompassing both MBA and MPH skills. He completed a residency in anatomic and clinical pathology at St. Luke’s Hospital in Denver, Colorado. He has a special interest in leadership, management, lab utilization, quality process improvements, safety and cost-effectiveness.
He is the recipient of the 2010 Outstanding Contributions to Management Sciences and Patient Safety Award from the American Association for Clinical Chemistry.

Page Access: