Management Sciences and Patient Safety Division Awards

Outstanding Contributions to Management Sciences and Patient Safety Award


2014 Giuseppe Lippi
2013 Charles D. Hawker, PhD, MBA, FACB
2012​ Michael Laposata, M.D., Ph.D.
2011 Lawrence J. Crolla, Ph.D.
2010 James S. Hernandez, M.D., M.S.
2009 Mary Haven M.S.
2008 Michael L. Astion M.D., PhD
2007 Mario Plebani, M.D.
2006 Carl C. Garber, PhD
2005 James O. Westgard, PhD
2004 Leslie Burnett, PhD
2003 Ian Wilkinson, PhD
2002 Donald J. Cannon, PhD
2001 Christopher S. Frings

Award Information

The Management Sciences and Patient Safety Division (MSPSD) of AACC established the annual Outstanding Contributions to Management Sciences Award in 2001 which was renamed in 2009 with the change in Division name to Outstanding Contributions to Management Sciences and Patient Safety Award. This award is intended to recognize the achievements of an individual who has made outstanding contributions in the field of management sciences or patient safety in the clinical laboratory/healthcare industry. This includes the training of professional clinical laboratory scientists; the teaching and integration of management sciences and patient safety at the undergraduate, postgraduate, and practicing level; meritorious scientific, education and research contributions; contributions through service to management sciences and patient safety with special emphasis on advancing the professional status of clinical laboratory scientists and the professional objectives of the Division.

The award consists of a suitably inscribed plaque or certificate and a cash award. The recipient will be recognized and provide the keynote presentation at the MSPSD Annual Leadership Symposium held on the Saturday immediately preceding the start of the AACC Annual Meeting

Criteria for the award include the following:

  • Nominations may be submitted by any AACC member or group of members such as division, local section, officer, or committee.
  • In an effort to recognize the diversity of contribution to management sciences and patient safety, recipients need not be members of AACC or the Division.
  • Nominations must consist of a nomination letter containing an evaluation and appraisal of the nominee's accomplishments relative to the award, a curriculum vitae, a list of publications and any other relevant information.
  • No more than 2 seconding letters of support from the nominee's colleagues may be included with the letter of nomination.

Typically the call for nominations is made in January with an announced deadline but nominations can be made at any time during the year. A nominating letter and supporting material should be sent to the current Chair of the Awards Committee.​​​​​

Page Access: