Banner Image

From the Division Chair... 

Jeffrey DuBois

Jeffrey DuBois, PhD, FACB
Nova Biomedical Corporation
Waltham, MA

I can’t believe that 2011 is drawing to a close. The CPOCT division activities this year have been significant and it has been a privilege and an honor for me to serve as the Chair of the Division.

First, let me thank the members of the executive committee and the work that they did to make this past year a successful year for the Division.

Second, I’d like to thank the Awards Committee for the excellent work that they did in selecting Kim Skala, as the Point of Care Coordinator of the year, Steve Valorz for a Service Award, and Will Ferguson, UC Davis, for the best CPOCT abstract at the AACC annual meeting. I’d also like to thank everyone who helped with the mixer, the POC Forum, and the Certificate Program. Each of these activities has been very well received and not only provides us the opportunity for professional development but also with the opportunity to network and develop new friends and associates. As past Chair of the division, Dr. Brad Karon is in the process of soliciting nominations for next year’s division officers. The nominating committee will notify division members shortly with the slate of candidates for election tithe Division Executive Committee.

Many activities have been planned for 2012, but I specifically want to mention the 24th International Symposium to be held in Prague, Czech Republic, which is progressing very nicely. We have developed a program that will bring clinical scientists and clinicians from around the world together to focus on how we create community of quality in critical and point of care testing. I would like to thank the symposium organizing committee for their work in planning and preparing this symposium for 2012. The symposium will be a valuable contribution to the medical community and the importance of CPOCT where clinical laboratory scientists and clinicians will exchange ideas and experiences in how to improve patient care.

Thanks again for this opportunity to serve the AACC and the CPOCT division. Now pass the baton to Dr. Fred Kiechle, Chair Elect for 2012.


Jeffrey A. DuBois, PhD FACB C(ASCP)SC
Chair, CPOCT

Page Access: