Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award

The Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award recognizes an outstanding individual who has demonstrated a lifetime commitment to, and made important contributions that have had a significant impact on education, practice and/or research in laboratory medicine or patient care.

As of 2009, the renamed award (which was formerly The AACC Lectureship Award) honors Wallace H. Coulter, inventor of the "Coulter Principle" and founder of Coulter Corporation. This simple but elegant invention revolutionized hematology and the practice of laboratory medicine, pioneered the field of flow cytometry and defined particle characterization. AACC has named its most prestigious lecture in Wallace Coulter's memory to commemorate his outstanding contributions to diagnostics and his championship of research and innovation. It is fitting that his legacy will be celebrated with lectures by renowned leaders in healthcare.

Since the Awardee will present a plenary lecture at the AACC Annual Meeting, the ideal candidate is an individual who is a top scientist in the field, with a global reputation, and is considered to have made significant contributions to the science and is an outstanding lecturer.

This award is funded by a grant from the Wallace H. Coulter Foundation, Miami, FL. The Awardee will receive a commemorative plaque and a $10,000 honorarium.

2014Eric J. Topol, MD
2013C. Ronald Kahn, MD
2012Eric D. Green
2011Mary-Claire King, PhD
2010John Trojanowski
2009Jerome E. Groopman, MD